Sorry For the Absence…

I meant to write another blog entry on Sunday after my quest to the Sistine Chapel and St. Peter’s Basilica. However, I forgot I have 4 tests this week. Its been pretty crazy.

The Vatican was absolutely astonishing. Unfortunately, the Pope was in his summer home, so there was no chance of catching a glimpse of him. Seeing the artwork of Michelangelo, Raphael, and Bernini was a once in a lifetime experience and unbelievable to look upon. I didn’t think I would actually be able to experience something so amazing, but yet I did. It was surreal. The Sistine ceiling was even more amazing than any picture could have ever shown. The amount of artwork and dedication it took to paint that… It is such a masterpiece. Even trying to get to the chapel proper was a maze of artwork, sculptures, and historical artifacts based in the Catholic faith. I can’t continue to describe such an amazing experience, but I would highly recommend seeing the Sistine Chapel even if you only have a day or two to spend in Rome. Its unbelievable.

Also this week I had my first wine tasting with real Italian wines. The white wine was delicious, but the red was actually not good. Our “wine guide” admitted as much, saying “nothing is going to help that wine…”. She did recommend some wines to everyone, however, based upon what kind of tastes each person said they enjoyed.

Tomorrow, I have another Italian test, and my Art History Mid Term on Friday. I had a quiz on Monday and Tuesday as well. It has been a crazy week. My room mate is starting to get restless because I come home and study for a few hours while he stews in the room. I try to explain how much work I have, but he is taking only one class and is done every day by 11:30. I don’t think he understands.

 

PS, there is a picture, but it wont attach. Check the Images library/gallery/whatever for pics of the sistine chapel

Leave a comment